Almost Supreme in Washington

F. Tupper Saussy quotes Charles Chiniquy on his trip to Washington to investigate Lincoln’s assassination:

Lincoln-Warren-1865-03-06“not a single one of the government men would discuss it with me except after I had given my word of honor that I would never mention their names.  I saw, with a profound distress, that the influence of Rome was almost supreme in Washington.  I could not find a single statesman who would dare to face that nefarious influence and fight it down.”

~Rulers of Evil: Useful Knowledge About Governing Bodies, Chapter 23

 

Leave a Reply

