Hanserd Knollys – Revelation 3

Feileadh Mor


Rev. 3.1:

“I know thy works, that thou hast a name, that thou livest and art dead” By a “name” to live, is meant, the great and honorable esteem which other churches of saints and ministers of Christ had of this church, her ministers and members. For, first, the appearance of the graces and gifts of the Spirit of God, which did shine forth and were perspicuous in some of the ministers of this church, made her renowned among other churches. (as Eze 16:14) Secondly, the soundness of doctrine, purity of gospel-administrations in the worship of God, and the strictness of discipline in this church, did give her a name and a praise among other churches. (as Zep 3:20)

Rev. 3.2:

“Be watchful” which doth more especially concern the Ministers of the church who are her watchman

“And strengthen the things which remain” ministers did not endeavor to nourish, cherish…

View original post 2,751 more words

On Daniel 2 and 7


This Prophet gives two predictions regarding the four Kingdoms that were to succeed the Babylonian Empire. The first, Daniel 2:31-45, is the revelation of Nebuchadnezzar’s dream, where:-


  • The golden head = The Babylonian Empire.
  • The breast and arms of silver = The Medo-Persian Empire.
  • The belly and thighs of brass = The Grecian or Macedonian Empire.
  • The legs of iron = The Roman Empire.
    (a) The feet partly iron and partly clay = The Roman Empire strong then weak.
    (b) The ten toes = The Ten Kingdoms into which the Roman Empire was divided.
  • The stone cut out of the mountain without hands = The Kingdom of Messiah which would smite the image and break it, which would become a great mountain and fill the whole earth.

Daniel Chapter 7 affords us another outline of the same four empires, where:-

Merian's Daniel 7 engraving

  • The lion with eagles wings = Babylon (the King of beasts and the King of birds).
  • The bear = The Medes and the Persians (strength and cruelty).
  • The leopard with four heads and four wings = Alexander’s rapid progress/ the eventual fourfold division of his empire.
  • The nameless beast = The Roman Empire which had ten horns plus a little horn which plucked out three of the former horns, in which were; “eyes like the eyes of a man, and a mouth speaking great things.”

This latter vision troubled the prophet: “I, Daniel, was distressed in my spirit in the midst of my body, and the visions of my head troubled me” (v.15). The vision of the little horn particularly troubled the prophet since he specifically asks concerning it (v.20). [It is significant that the time and place of the little horn is fixed within this vision].

All the above predictions have come to pass. The Roman Empire was divided into Ten Kingdoms, and the Papacy arose out of the midst of them. In so doing, he plucked out by the root three of these Kingdoms; viz. the Exarchate of Ravenna ceded to the Pope in 755, the Lombards in 774, and and the state of Rome itself.

The title Little Horn is also significant. Compared to previous monarchies the Papacy appears insignificant, yet it is diverse from the first (being a combination of spiritual and temporal power). Further, Daniel’s description of this horn fits exactly that of the worldly pride and arrogance of the Papacy, as:-

In this horn were the eyes of a man, and a mouth that spake very great things, whose look was more stout than his fellows. (v.20)

He shall speak great words against the most High, and shall wear out the saints of the most High, and think to change times and laws. (v.25)

This information is from an article on Nineteenth Century Romanism, which can be read in full here:  http://www.nesherchristianresources.org/JBS/enews_articles/enews_article_13.html